Vol. 7, Number 1

Happy New Year and welcome to the 7th year of publication for The Monday eMemo.  How quick the time has flown by – it seems like only yesterday when the first issue was published on January 8, 2007 with a listserv subscription of 80!  Today that subscription is at approximately 2400!

As stated in that first issue, the intent of the eMemo is to provide teacher interns (Primary/Elementary and Intermediate/Secondary) with support and encouragement as well as some relevant pedagogical information they may find useful in their internships. Perhaps the most important aspect of the eMemo is the opportunity for interns to share with fellow interns their thoughts on how their internships are going.  These are short “blurbs” (no names of course) and will hopefully start in next week’s issue. Included in this week’s issue are some “samples” from last year’s eMEMO.

 

This year we continue with our regular “columns”, Recommended Book Resource for Primary & Elementary Interns and the Readers Respond.  We hope to begin these next week.

As the eMemo has a very wide readership, readers (not just the interns) are encouraged to submit their thoughts/feedback on any aspect of eMEMO content or the B. Ed. internship.  Enjoy!

 

Best Wishes for a Successful Internship

Interns, by now most of you will have already started your internship last Thursday, January 3.  We hope you have gotten off to a good start and during the next 3 months, you are encouraged to submit a short “blurb”  (approx.. 6-8 sentences) about your internship for publication

in the eMEMO.

 


Advice For You As A Teacher Intern

  1. Be on time. [Arriving early is highly recommended. Also highly recommended is not leaving the building one minute after the last bell!]
  2. Dress appropriately. [I think this means “professionally”.     Business-casual seems to be the “order of the day” and by    that is meant dress pants/skirts – dress shirts/blouses – no  blue jeans or t-shirts – no sneakers unless you’re a Phys Ed teacher     intern!]
  3. Be flexible.
  4. Follow the school rules.
  5. Plan ahead.
  6. Befriend the office staff.
  7. Maintain confidentiality.
  8. Don’t gossip.
  9. Be professional with fellow teachers. And lastly,
  10. Don’t wait to the last minute to call in sick.

 

Some Additional Sage Advice

Sometimes interns run into difficulty early in their internships.  There may be a personality conflict with a co-operating teacher, a problem with classroom management, problems with lesson planning, etc.  It is most important that interns seek help early.  That help could be in the form of seeking advice from one of your fall semester university instructors, a “seasoned” teacher friend, your MUN internship supervisor, another teacher at your internship school or our co-ordinator of field placements, Mr. Hayward Blake (hblake@mun.ca).

Who you speak to is your decision but it is extremely important that you speak to someone for advice.  Don’t let the problem “fester” and find yourself too late in the internship to take corrective action.  This is not fair to you or to your co-operating teacher.

 

Feedback From Last Year’s Interns (2011-2012)

Interns, to give you an idea of what you could include in your submissions, we’re printing some “samples” from last year’s eMEMO.

 

I was so nervousThe day before I started my internship I was so nervous I didn’t think I was going to survive.  Then when I got there and met my teacher and saw the principal and some of the teachers I knew (I went to this school growing up) I became much more relaxed. The school I am in is so great.  The staff are so nice and I really don’t think I could have ended up with a better co-operating teacher. The kids LOVE him to death.  I find it so funny listening to the things that come out of grade 8’s and 9’s.  They are so clever!  I start teaching this Tuesday and I am still a little nervous, but it gets lesser every day.  I think it will go well and I get more excited about being a teacher every day!!!   (Intermediate Intern)      I am really enjoying my internship so far

I am really enjoying my internship so far. I’m in a grade 2 class in a rural

community here in Newfoundland. The teachers are great, especially my

co-operating teacher and the principal. They are going above and beyond to prepare me for when I become a teacher, with extra evaluations and practice of interview questions.

The students in my class are great! We have one child with

Autism and he is the sweetest child I have ever met; he just needs someone to keep him focused while completing any school work. I will be teaching my first Science lesson on Tuesday and I cannot wait!

(Primary Intern)

 I’m starting to feel the shift

With the second week of my internship coming to an end I’m starting to feel the shift from “playing” teacher to actually “being” a teacher. I’ve already started teaching some physical education classes and am very grateful that I was eased into it. Compared to a classroom, managing student behaviour is much easier in the gym. As soon as you pause they know that if they’re not quiet they won’t get to move onto the next activity. In the classroom they’re not as eager to settle down so becoming more effective at managing behaviour in the classroom is on my to-do list.

So far I’m loving my internship, plus the odd snow day here and there is an added bonus! The staff is awesome and the students are all about high-fives.

Next week I get to help coach one of the volleyball teams and lend my expertise to the Robotics Club even though I know nothing about robotics! Wish me luck!  (Secondary Intern)

 It didn’t take long

Upon first walking into my new school I felt, as I imagine everyone does, a little nervous. For me, it was not so much nervous to meet the students but instead nervous to meet the staff. I was aware that they are a fantastic group of teachers, therefore slightly worried of what they may think of my teaching abilities. However, it didn’t take long before I started to warm up to them.

Each staff member has been extremely welcoming, helpful, and only too willing to share their own tips and tricks with me. Of course, it didn’t take long before I gained a comfort level in the school and now feel as though I am a part of the family. (Elementary Intern)

 

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 1)

 v07-01-01

“I was a 1st grade teacher.  What did you do?”

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 2)

v07-01-02

“I’m experimenting with right brain math.”

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 3)

v07-01-03 

 

Congratulations to Dr. Gabrielle Young

Congratulations to our colleague Dr. Gabrielle Young, assistant professor of Special Education, who successfully defended her PhD dissertation at the University of Western Ontario in London on December 14th.   We wish her continued success in her academic work.

 

Concluding Comment From the Editor

That’s it for Issue # 1.  Next week as mentioned earlier, we hope to have a number of “blurbs’ from teacher interns discussing how their first week in the classroom went.

 

Couldn’t resist the temptation to say a few words about my favorite sport – hockey!   Absolutely ecstatic that the NHL has come to a tentative agreement with its players and it looks like the season will start in another week or so.  I’m still rather annoyed that it took this long and that we had to miss out on approximately half the season.

 

This is the 6th year of operation for our MUN scrimmage hockey team; we play every Friday night (4 on 4) at St. Bon’s Forum from 9:00 – 10:00 pm.  Before Christmas 3 of my Ed 4005 students played with us:  Mike Hicks, Dan Morgan and Tyler Norman.  Mike and Dan are in Botwood and Corner Brook doing their internships this semester and another student from my class, Shane Morgan along with Tyler is on our roster this semester.  Unfortunately one of our regular goalies, Dwain Gallant broke his fibula in our first game along with a very messed up ankle; he’s gone for the season.  Luckily, we picked up 2 “backup” goalies, Wade Abbott, a local dentist and Jon Bennett, a first year MUN student from Botwood.  Your truly is averaging a goal a game which I’m quite pleased about; and of course to put that in its appropriate context, , several other players are averaging triple or quadruple that number!  But, it’s all good!

 

Good luck, interns, with your first full week in the classroom.

About themondayememo

Jerome G. Delaney, Editor Associate Professor – Educational Administration Faculty of Education Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John’s, NL Canada A1B 3X8 Telephone: 709-864-2071 Facsimile: 709-864-2345 Email: jdelaney@mun.ca
This entry was posted in Volume 07 (Winter 2013). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

