Vol. 8, Number 1

Happy New Year to everyone and hope your Christmas was an enjoyable and relaxing one for you.  Welcome to the 8th year of publication for The Monday eMemo. This eMEMO was originally scheduled to be sent out last Sunday, January 5 but with the delayed opening of most schools in the province due to the power challenges experienced last week, it was delayed to today.  The first issue of this eMEMO was published on January 8, 2007 with a listserv subscription of 80!  Today that subscription is nearing the 3000 mark!

As stated in that first issue, the intent of the eMemo is to provide teacher interns (Primary/Elementary and Intermediate/Secondary) with support and encouragement as well as some relevant pedagogical information they may find useful in their internships. Perhaps the most important aspect of the eMemo is the opportunity for interns to share with fellow interns their thoughts on how their internships are going.  These are short “blurbs” (no names of course) and will hopefully start in next week’s issue. Included in this week’s issue are some “samples” from last year’s eMEMO.

This year we continue with our regular “column”, Recommended Book Resource for Primary & Elementary Interns.  This feature is quite popular with the primary and elementary interns and provides highly practical information on literature appropriate to the P/E grades.   This year we would like to have more features about our former students who are now teaching.  Those students are encouraged to email an update to the eMEMO on where they are and their present teaching positions.

As the eMemo has a very wide readership, readers (not just the interns) are encouraged to submit their thoughts/feedback on any aspect of eMEMO content or the B. Ed. internship.  We hope you enjoy this year’s “offerings”!  Best wishes to all interns for a successful and most enjoyable internship.

 

Advice For You As A Teacher Intern

By now all interns have had at least 1 day on their internship.  We hope you’re getting off to a good start and the following advice is offered for your consideration.

  1. Be on time. [Arriving early is highly recommended. Also highly recommended is not leaving the building one minute after the last bell!]
  2. Dress appropriately. [I think this means “professionally”.

Business-casual seems to be the “order of the day” and by

that is meant dress pants/skirts – dress shirts/blouses – no

blue jeans or t-shirts – no sneakers unless you’re a Phys Ed teacher

intern!]

  1. Be flexible.
  2. Follow the school rules.
  3. Plan ahead.
  4. Befriend the office staff.
  5. Maintain confidentiality.
  6. Don’t gossip.
  7. Be professional with fellow teachers. And lastly,
  8. Don’t wait to the last minute to call in sick.

 

Some Additional Sage Advice

Sometimes interns run into difficulty early in their internships.  There may be a personality conflict with a co-operating teacher, a problem with classroom management, problems with lesson planning, etc.  It is most important that interns seek help early.  That help could be in the form of seeking advice from one of your fall semester university instructors, a “seasoned” teacher friend, your MUN internship supervisor, another teacher at your internship school or our co-ordinator of field placements, Mr. Hayward Blake (hblake@mun.ca; telephone 864-2169).

Who you speak to is your decision but it is extremely important that you speak to someone for advice.  Don’t let the problem “fester” and find yourself too late in the internship to take corrective action.  This is not fair to you or to your co-operating teacher.

 

Feedback From Last Year’s Interns (2012-2013)

Interns, to give you an idea of what you could include in your submissions, we’re printing some “samples” from last year’s eMEMO.

A part of the school community after just one short week

Wow! Only a week has passed and it seems like so much has happened already – staff and department meetings, teaching, preparing lessons, helping prepare assessments, supervision duties, emergency drills and a couple of snow days – we  really hit the ground running, didn’t we!

I started teaching on my third day and I’ve been loving it. I’ve only started with one grade, but I’m looking forward to taking on a heavier load next week. Also, I’ll be starting with the Breakfast Program and Homework Club next week as well.

I feel very fortunate to have been placed at a fantastic school with a great co-operating teacher. All of the staff and administration have been very welcoming, providing me with tidbits of information and guiding me through my first week.

With the academics, school programs, and the welcoming environment, I really feel like I’m a part of the school community after just one short week. (Intermediate Intern)

 Been introduced to so many different teaching techniques

I am completing my internship at a primary school not that far from St. John’s.  It is such an amazing school with phenomenal staff members. I completed my observation days here as well. I knew from the first day that I wanted to be placed at this school.

Any student would learn a tremendous amount of valuable information from any teacher at this school. This past week I have been introduced to so many different teaching techniques. My co-operating teacher has so many classroom management strategies that work very well especially in Kindergarten. I am very excited to learn new things from the staff at this school so I can become a great educator for students.

(Primary Intern)

Going great so far

My internship is going great so far! I am in a grade five classroom in a small community in Newfoundland. At first I was somewhat nervous as I didn’t know what to expect, but once I got there the staff made me feel completely at home which was great.

My class is wonderful, and my co-operating teacher is very helpful and I am learning so much already. I have already taken on some of the roles of a classroom teacher, and I look forward to taking on more as the internship progresses.

It is so great to actually be out in the school because it gives us the opportunity to take all that we have learned so far in the faculty and apply it in a classroom setting! Looking forward to what’s to come! (Elementary Intern)

 Looking forward to the next few months

The first week of my internship has been a little hectic. I am currently interning at a private school for expats in Seoul, South Korea, and having to get used to a 13 hour time difference, and the culture shock is a little disorienting.

This week I have been spending my morning with a grade 8 science class, while finding other classes to observe during the afternoons (I will also be working in a High School Biology class;  however, it is currently exam week for them).

The teacher I am working with is considered to be a master teacher and has an amazing rapport with his students. I am really looking forward to working with and learning from him throughout the internship.

Many of the perceptions I had about middle school have been completely wrong. It is amazing to see the difference between my experience during the early internship and what I am experiencing now. I think many of the differences are due to the culture: students not only seem to respect their teachers to a greater degree, but they seem consistently motivated to participate and excel in school. I am looking forward to the next few months here!

(Intermediate/Secondary Intern)

 I no longer felt nervous

On the first day of my internship we had a meeting with the principal of the school.  I was among two other interns and the principal looked at me and said your co-operating teacher is very intense and a hard worker and will be expecting the same from you. The principal did not say anything along those lines to the other interns which made me nervous and somewhat intimidated although I am sure the principal did not intend to make me feel that way. Once I met my co-operating I no longer felt nervous; she welcomed me into her class and has been getting me

to participate in her classes since day one.

She has developed a great rapport with all her students and I am looking forward to completing my internship in

her classes. I believe I will learn a great deal from her as I have already learned so much in the short time I have been at the school.

Good luck to all my fellow interns and I hope everyone has a great experience.   (Secondary Intern)

 On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 1)

v08-01-01

“I’ve finished my report.  Now how do I save it?”

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 2)

v08-01-02

“Please turn off your cell phones and turn

on your wireless ebook readers.”

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 3)

v08-01-03

“I keep their attention by simply saying

‘Jersey Shore” every 30 seconds.”

 

Concluding Comment From the Editor

By now everyone in Newfoundland and Labrador is aware of and has probably experienced significant challenges these past several days with respect to those “polar vortex” temperatures and the power outages.  It’s my understanding that Labrador escaped those outages.  Looks like we have “weathered” (pardon the pun) those challenges and things are finally settling down.

Interns, you are encouraged to submit “blurbs” similar to those included in this issue – don’t worry about grammatical mistakes etc., we’ll take care of those.  Without these “blurbs” this eMEMO could not happen; your support of this publication in doing this is most appreciated.

And lastly, best wishes, interns, on your first full week (for interns in Labrador, it will be your second) in the classroom.   We’ll “see” you next week.

About themondayememo

Jerome G. Delaney, Editor Associate Professor – Educational Administration Faculty of Education Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John’s, NL Canada A1B 3X8 Telephone: 709-864-2071 Facsimile: 709-864-2345 Email: jdelaney@mun.ca
This entry was posted in Volume 08 (Winter 2014). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

