Vol. 6, Number 10

Welcome to THE MONDAY eMEMO, issue # 10.  Interns, as of tomorrow Monday, you have 5 weeks of your internship left.

Many of you have commented that you can’t believe how quick the time has gone by; that seems to be the nature of teaching.  This week we have a record low number of submissions – our interns are obviously “up to their eyeballs” with their classroom work.  Might I say we don’t have quantity this week but we sure have quality.  Enjoy.

Feedback From This Year’s Interns

 

My couch has become my best friend

Despite being someone who feeds off of people’s energies, my couch has become my best friend at the end of the school day. All “former-interns” have mentioned their frequent napping and how it helped them make it through their internships. The fatigue has been one of the biggest adjustments for me.

There are a million things that happen in the span of five hours – all of which require attention: from students without pencils to another one shooting spitballs to one who REALLY needs to pee to one who wants to tell you about his or her weekend – all at the same time.

I think it’s near impossible to be taught about “what to expect” (there is a child in my school with a watch phobia, freaky!). My methodology courses have encouraged the delivery of meaningful learning to students but it is also integral to our development as teachers. There is no way to write a book about every possible potential experience and deliver it in a classroom setting, so the internship is the only real way to learn how to teach – a process that will and should be, lifelong and dynamic. Variety is the spice of life and of lesson planning.  (Intermediate Intern)

 

I am completing my internship at a private international school in the West Indies

I am completing my internship at a private international school in the West Indies.  I was more excited and curious than nervous when I began. I have always wanted to teach internationally so I used my internship placement as a way to gain invaluable experience.  My students are from countries throughout the world, from England to Syria.  The diverse student population has created a unique internship and learning experience.

The school is small and this has allowed me to focus on completing my goals.  The small student population has also enabled me to develop positive relations with my students.  This is important since I can’t go to the grocery store without crossing paths with at least one student.  I also get weekly feedback from my co-operating teachers and the principal, which has created an excellent learning environment.

The small staff has been like a family so far.  I spend my weekdays, weekends and holidays with them.  I have truly enjoyed my experience and feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to teach, live with and learn from these individuals.  I don’t look forward to leaving and returning to the wonderful weather of Newfoundland!!!!!!!!! (Intermediate/Secondary Intern)

 

They give so much of their time and creativity

My internship has been filled with excitement and learning.  I have experienced what it is like to deal with irate parents who felt they were misinformed and experienced the pride in parents when they are told how truly awesome their child is.

I am interning in grade 6 and am very fortunate to be experiencing the classroom atmosphere of these 27 lively children.  I have had the opportunity to assist in “All Star Reading,” – a form of reading recovery with Individual Education Programs (IEPs) for several students. I never realized how much work was involved until I had to devise a science test with modifications for several students.

Schools need so much help.  I am a member of the breakfast club and help with the hockey team.  I love every minute of it and am thankful for the fantastic teachers that keep this school running.  Everything is run by the teachers.  They give so much of their time and creativity.

If I come away from this with anything, it will be in knowing that there are some fantastic people out there that will go the extra mile for a child and will love every minute doing it – these people are teachers.  I hope to have the honor of that title, soon.  (Elementary Intern)

 

I am creating my own teacher/leader philosophy So far, my internship has done wonders to remind me that teaching is what I want to do in life. I am fortunate to be under the guidance of two very talented teachers and be surrounded by supportive students, teachers and administrators. Although it would be beneficial to have more than one internship to see how a variety of schools function, I enjoy the 14 week internship because we are given the opportunity to really get involved with theschool and perhaps see how the end of one semester and the beginning of another semester flow together. Through this internship, I am creating my own teacher/leader philosophy as I see positive traits in teachers whom I want to be like and other qualities that I would personally change. We learn more during our internship than we could ever learn from sitting in a class or reading a text book. Realizing how much there is to learn about teaching, I wish MUN’s B. Ed. program would re-evaluate some of their course offerings. With only two semesters of in-class work, we need to take advantage of every single opportunity to learn and I know a number of Education students agree with me that some of the courses offered through the B. Ed. program NEED to be altered. (Intermediate/Secondary Intern) Editor’s Note:  As of this coming September (2012), there are significant changes coming to our B. Ed. (I/S) program.  The time period to do the B. Ed. remains the same (September to August).  In a future eMEMO we’ll have more to say about those changes.   Both eye-opening and wonderful

So far my internship has been both eye-opening and wonderful.  I have two co-operating teachers that couldn’t be more different: one is laid back and more easy-going, while the other is quite the opposite (both are popular with the students though).  Experiencing two very different teaching styles has helped me further my sense of who I would like to become as a teacher.  I am currently working towards a hybrid of the two.

I’ve been told over and over that your sense of “teacher self” will take time and to simply have confidence in that; this has been one of the most helpful tidbits of info I’ve received yet.  Learning who I am as a teacher is a constantly evolving process and that is rather intimidating but considering I’ve been told I’ll be a wonderful teacher, I feel relief.  I was worried going into this internship as I’ve never taught anything before and while my confidence hasn’t fully developed yet, I’m feeling

much better overall. (Intermediate/Secondary Intern)

 

 

On the Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 1)

v6-10-01

“Did you know they pay our teacher to come to school every day?

We do it for free!”

 

Quote of the Week

“The secret of education is respecting the pupil.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 2)

v6-10-02

____________________________________

“Miss Holt told us how to work well without supervision.

Then she left!”

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 3)

v6-10-03

“Hello – 911 operator.  What is your emergency?”

 

Recommended Book Resource for All Interns 

 

A Weave of Words

Written by: Robert D. San Souci

Illustrated by Raul Colon

New York: Orchard Books, 1998

 

This timeless tale will delight students from primary to high school. Prince Vachagan was handsome, bright and good-hearted but he could not read or write. He did not think they were important skills because he could hunt and would one day rule a kingdom.

Then he met and fell in love with Anait, the daughter of a weaver who would not marry him until he learned to read and write. Not only did Vachagan learn to read and write but he also became a skilled weaver and wove Anait a splendid carpet.

They were married and Anait, in turn, learned Vachagan’s skills of riding and using a sword. Eventually they became the rulers of the kingdom. One day, Vachagan went off to explore troubles in the kingdom and got captured by a monstrous force. It was then that Vachagan and Anait realized the importance of their newfound skills as they each used them to become reunited.

The watercolor and pencil drawings add to the authenticity of the Armenian folklore from which this story derives. There is a little something for everyone in this classic tale of adventure, love and wisdom.

 

A Reminder to All Teacher Interns

As mentioned last week, all teacher interns are asked to periodically check their MUN email accounts for important messages from the Faculty of Education.

 

Concluding Comment

That’s it for this issue – a little shorter than usual.

 

The world of hockey was quite abuzz this weekend with the firing of Toronto Maple Leafs’ coach, Ron Wilson and the subsequent hiring of former Anaheim Ducks’ coach, Randy Carlyle as his replacement.  Obviously there is no tenure with NHL hockey coaches!  And I have to commend, albeit most reluctantly, the Leafs on their win against mes

Habs!  I can see Randy Carlyle is going to cause me some stress as the Leafs just might make the playoffs.  It sure looks like the Habs are doomed to remain in the basement of the Eastern Conference and the only thing that would alleviate some of that pain would be the Leafs not making the playoffs as well!

 

Re our scrimmage game this Friday night, had another wonderful game.

Since I don’t have anything Habs-related to “crow about” lately, I might as well tell you about my assist and goal on Friday night! Early in the game I was skating down the right wing, puck on stick and made a beautiful pass over to Intermediate/Secondary teacher intern Jacob Carson and he scored!!!!!  A thing of beauty!  Jacob is originally from Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario but has been residing in Winnipeg for the past several years.  I told the other players we called him “up” from the Winnipeg Jets!!!!  My goal was less picturesque but it was a goal – the goalie was caught out of his net and I had no choice but to score!!!!!   Pardon my humility or lack thereof!

 

“See” you next week.

 

For follow-up, please contact:

About themondayememo

Jerome G. Delaney, Editor Associate Professor – Educational Administration Faculty of Education Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John’s, NL Canada A1B 3X8 Telephone: 709-864-2071 Facsimile: 709-864-2345 Email: jdelaney@mun.ca
This entry was posted in Volume 06 (Winter 2012). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

