Vol. 6, Number 12

Greetings everyone – welcome to issue # 12 of the eMEMO.  After this eMEMO, there are only 2 remaining issues; how fast the time   has gone by.  Enjoy!

Feedback From This Year’s Interns

 

Has brought its own excitement and challenges

My internship as a fulltime Physical Education teacher has been very interesting and each day has brought its own excitement and challenges. One interesting thing I have noticed is that at first I thought cell phones would not be an issue in PE but apparently even during that one hour of physical activity, they tend to find time to take out their phones and text. I wish my social life was so important – ha ha!

In all I have to say the experience has been a positive one. I have been given full rein over classes and the opportunity to teach basically anything I wish as long as it relates to the curriculum. Some classes are noticeably more difficult to manage but of course that makes for interesting days.

I have taken on the coaching responsibilities for a grade 7 girls’ basketball team and I would suggest that everyone take on some extra-curricular activity because it has helped to build positive student-teacher relationships.

Learning the names of all 300+ students has been very difficult for me but I’m getting there, probably knowing about 70-80% of their names now.  (Intermediate/Secondary Intern)

 

There are some good days and bad days

So far, my internship is going fantastic. My co-operating teacher and I get along great and I sure am learning lots of teaching and class management skills from her (and other teachers as well).

In the beginning, I struggled a bit to get used to this completely different

type of lifestyle. But now I feel much better about this mentally and

physically challenging profession and I am so glad I decided to come join this faculty.

Just like any other jobs, there are some good days and bad days. The big thing is that I find it goes from one extreme to another VERY much: the good days are so good, it makes you feel all pink and fuzzy on the inside, then the bad days could be so depressing that makes you curl up in a ball and cry.

BUT! Overall I am having many more better days than bad days, so I guess I can’t really complain.  (Intermediate/Secondary Intern)

 

My co-operating teacher has been the most amazing mentor

I can’t believe there are only three weeks left to my internship. It feels as if I only walked into my classroom yesterday and was introduced to my class. The challenges that I faced in the beginning with teaching in a K-12 multi-grade school setting are now a million miles away.  I have become familiar with so many curriculums across grades K-9 and have mastered lesson planning in various subject areas.

My co-operating teacher has been the most amazing mentor throughout and has given me advice based on her 35 years of teaching that will greatly benefit me in my future career. All my worries about not having enough diversity in my lesson plans to incorporate different learning styles and abilities have quickly vanished. I now feel confident in planning lessons across grades, learning styles, and learning abilities and sometimes I don’t even realize that I am incorporating so much diversity because now it just comes naturally.

This internship experience is definitely different than some but I feel that it is one that has prepared me for what I can expect in the future. It has  introduced me to almost all grade levels and a very different school atmosphere than the typical primary/elementary school. My internship has made me confident in the sense that no matter what grade or place I end up teaching in, I will feel comfortable because of the knowledge and experiences that I have gained at this school.  (Primary/Elementary Intern)

 

I am teaching in a private K-12 international school in Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam

My internship is going as great as an internship can go. I am teaching in a private K-12 international school in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam which currently enrolls 600 students and has about 80 teaching staff members. I’m currently in a Grade 4 classroom and so far I’m loving this class.

I have an awesome co-operating teacher who is very resourceful and a class with a quirky sense of humor yet thirsting for knowledge. My co-operating teacher has left me to plan and deliver three units – Language Arts, Science, and Math – which I am very excited to start because it’s my own work and while planning it, I kept in mind what the majority of the students enjoyed doing in class with my co-operating teacher (e.g., Art) and somehow I tried to integrate it into my lessons where possible.

I really enjoy the school because the students have a lot to offer in the classroom and the learning goes both ways. Also, it is one of the few schools that allow the local students (i.e., the Vietnamese) as well as international students to enroll. (Elementary Intern)

 

The backseat of my car has become the place to store books

I am doing my internship in French Immersion at a junior high school (grades 8 and 9). It has been both an exciting and challenging experience so far.

First for the challenging: When I arrived, I found out that the school I was supposed to intern at was actually closed because of mould. The students and staff are being housed between two different schools. The result: My grade 8 students are in an elementary school and the grade 9 students are in a high school.

My co-operating teacher and I travel between the two schools daily (elementary school in the morning and high school in the afternoon). My co-operating teacher does not have his own classroom during this period so we move about between free classrooms to teach our classes.

Needless to say, it has been quite challenging at times (since we do not have a classroom, the backseat of my car has become the place to store books and photocopies I am not currently using).

In saying that, it has not been a negative experience by any means. I have proven to myself that I can be flexible and adaptive to new and challenging situations.

The exciting: I am acting as a director with the drama club! I was not involved with a lot of extra-curricular activities when I was a student so I am happy to have the chance to make up for that now. We are currently preparing for the regional drama festival which occurs at the end of the month (and holding lengthy practices 3 times a week). It has been very rewarding to see the play come together and to spend time with the students outside of school.

Overall, this experience has confirmed that I have picked the correct career path for me.  (Intermediate Intern)

 

I’m trying to stretch it out and savor every moment

I’ve enjoyed every minute of my internship and I just can’t believe how quickly the time has passed! I’m so glad I had this opportunity because although theory is important, it doesn’t always translate directly into the classroom setting. It’s been great to see and experience what happens in a real classroom.

My greatest concern when I began my internship was classroom management but thanks to the great group of students in my classes

and my amazing co-operating teacher, that hasn’t been an issue at all. I have learned some great management strategies like maintaining a routine, how to organize my time, how showing respect garners respect and how to use proximity and eye contact effectively.

I have to say that the students and the staff have all been so welcoming and supportive. It’s been such a wonderful experience and I know that I’ll be sorry when it’s over. As everyone else counts down the days

until Easter break, I’m trying to stretch it out and savor every moment!

(Primary/Elementary Intern)

 

My first class I was a bit nervous

My internship has been running fairly smoothly with few problems and with the help of staff and students, it has thus far been an enjoyable and enlightening experience. It was slow to get started due to the mid-term exam schedule of the high school where I am but once that was over, it was down to business. It was good however to take part in this aspect of school because it enabled me to experience the processes involved during this period in school, specifically with respect to the planning of exams and the rigorous scheduling that must be maintained to have it function smoothly.

My first class I was a bit nervous but after a little while I was getting into the swing of things. The students were actually pretty good and responded well to my style of teaching. My co-operating teacher was very supportive and said “Take your time, you’ll find your rhythm, and if you run into difficulty just announce to the class that Mr. . . . will continue with this part of class and he will step in and take over”.  Luckily there was no need and it went well.  In no time I was up to my full teaching responsibility and I was enjoying it greatly.

I know that I still have to work on my presentation skills but as another of my co-operating teachers said “You’ll get it with time. You can’t judge yourself by comparing yourself to me. I’ve got 25 plus years on you and when you get those years under your belt, you know all the information, you only got to tweak it to make it work for your individual class and students”.

My internship has been a very valuable experience and I feel that it will help prepare me for my career as an educator. I will be sad to leave but know that I will have some good friendships created and that these friendships may be called upon for advice in my future endeavours. Again, this has been a very enjoyable and supportive experience.

(Intermediate/Secondary Intern)

 

I have found it difficult to get students to submit assignments on time

Throughout this internship, I have learned a great deal about the realities of teaching. My goal is to motivate students to do their work and to understand the benefits that come from a well-developed work ethic. However, this has been quite a challenge.

Since the new district assignment policy has come into effect, I have

found it difficult to get students to submit assignments on time. They know there are no penalties for handing in late work but it creates a lot of extra work for the teacher who is forced to chase after students to get assignments in. This definitely is a challenge that I am sure every teacher has to face. I understand each school throughout the city has had to deal with this problem in some degree, so schools are now working to develop their own policies on late assignments.

I look forward to joining the teaching work force in September and

I hope we can all work together to find a solution to keep students

motivated.

However, I have to say teaching French has been very enjoyable and I

have had the opportunity to work with some bright students. I am looking forward to starting my career.

(Secondary Intern)

 

Education 4420 (Legal & Moral Issues in Education) – Spring Semester 2012

I’ve received a number of enquiries re Education 4420 (Legal & Moral Issues in Education) to be offered in the spring semester.  Yours truly will be teaching both sections:

Section 001 (CRN 81757):  For the full 13 week spring semester from May 7 – August 3 (Tues and Thurs from 2:30-3:45 in E1005).  It is my understanding that this section is open only to B. Ed. (I/S) students.

Section 002 (CRN 84652):  For the 6 week spring intersession from May 7 – June 15 (Mon-Wed-Fri from 11:00-12:40 in E1005).  It is my understanding that this section is open to both B. Ed. (P/E) and to B. Ed. (I/S) students.

Registration for the spring semester begins next week on Monday, March 26.  Students having any questions about Education 4420 should contact jdelaney@mun.ca (telephone 864-2071; office E4022).   

 

On the Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 1)

v6-12-01

“Patrick, I’m a Math teacher.  Please stop saying

I’m in the numbers racket!”

 

Quote of the Week

“A hundred years from now it will not matter what my bank account was, the sort of house I lived in, or the kind of car I drove . . . . but the world maybe different because I was important in the life of a child.”

                                                                                         Kathy Davis

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 2)

v6-12-02

____________________________________

“I hope it’s not too much of an inconvenience but I really try

to hold onto our good teachers!”

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 3)

v6-12-03

 

“What happens in school stays in school.  Right, Ms. Atkins?”

 

Recommended Book Resource For All Interns

 

Akiak: A Tale from the Iditarod

Written and illustrated by Robert J. Blake

New York: Philomel Books

 

Akiak is a 10 year old husky and this is her last chance to win the Iditarod, an 1151 mile race from Anchorage to Nome.

Some thought Akiak was too old to compete but Akiak was determined to win her final race. However, on Day 4, Akiak hurt her paw, had to be taken home and her team went on without her. On Day 5, Akiak escaped

and started out to find her team. Day 8 saw Akiak stumbling on, not having eaten for two days and with mushers trying to catch her.

By now, many knew that Akiak was trying to catch up to her team and she was getting support from the onlookers, who were leaving food out for her along the way.

On Day 10, Akiak caught up with her team and saved them from disaster. Although she was not allowed to rejoin the race, she crossed the finish line as a passenger in the sled.

Robert Blake’s oil paintings depict a dog with a hero’s heart and a warrior’s spirit. Impossible to read aloud with dry eyes, students from primary to high school will cheer for Akiak, along with the people who crowded the finish line to see this courageous dog who had run the Iditarod trail alone to finish in first place.

 

Concluding Comment

That’s it for issue # 12.  A special word of thanks to those interns who took the time and made a special effort to send in submissions for this issue. This was most appreciated as this past week was March break in the Maritime provinces and many of you in this province were “up to your eyeballs” working on report cards.

Hockey-wise, saw the IceCaps-Bull Dogs game at Mile One on Wednesday night past. What a great game it was with the IceCaps winning the game by a score of 6-0!  The previous night the Hamilton Bull Dogs won by a score of 4-2.  I guess this definitely illustrates the rather “cyclical” nature of hockey.

As for our scrimmage game this past Friday night at St. Bon’s, I didn’t get a point – I don’t think I even got a shot on net.  Quite a contrast to last week and how “cyclical” is that!!!!!!!  Oh well, maybe next week!

 

Have a wonderful week everyone.

About themondayememo

Jerome G. Delaney, Editor Associate Professor – Educational Administration Faculty of Education Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John’s, NL Canada A1B 3X8 Telephone: 709-864-2071 Facsimile: 709-864-2345 Email: jdelaney@mun.ca
This entry was posted in Volume 06 (Winter 2012). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

