Vol. 6, Number 13

Good morning everyone – welcome to the second last issue of the eMEMO for this year.  We only have a few submissions this week but that’s understandable as most of what the interns wanted to say, has probably been said.  In next week’s last issue we’ll say a few words about the newly revised and hopefully improved B. Ed. (I/S) program which officially gets underway this coming September.

Feedback From This Year’s Interns

 

I have learned not to take anything personally

This internship has been very eye-opening. I went from feeling shell-shocked by student apathy and the alarmingly inadequate levels of literacy, to feeling despair that I might never make a difference. Then, I began to feel uplifted every time a student said hi in the hallways or smiled in class.

There have been terrible days and excellent days. I have learned not to take anything personally. Just when it seems they are all bored or that I’m losing them, a student who is usually the last to “get it”, pipes up with a bang-on response. And just when I feel like I’m not being effective enough, or when I get down on myself because a student has said “Who do you think you are coming in here and giving me thirty marks lower than anyone else would?”, another student makes a comment such as “Wow, we’ve been studying this for 5 years and we’ve never learned it this way before!” or “This is my favourite assignment I’ve been given in all of high school!”.

Only now, this late in the internship, am I learning to relax; I can’t be all things to everyone and becoming the teacher I want to be will take a lot longer than 3 months. (Secondary Intern)

 

One could use a golf analogy to describe teaching

To say that I wasn’t a little bit nervous would of course be silly of me.

Heading back to my old high school and into a staff-room that would still have many of the teachers that were there when I was a student certainly was strange at first. But, they have all been very warm and inviting and as time has gone on, I have felt more and more like a “member” of the staff-room, not just some student who’s there to observe.

I was eased into my internship by my co-operating teacher and this was greatly appreciated, giving me ample time to come to grips with the Pathways system and the high level of inclusion found at my school.

Instead of having one co-operating teacher I actually had four and I’m spread out in five different courses, both junior and senior high.  Fortunately, all are Social Studies courses that I feel very comfortable with. I have taken over five classes.

Most days are great and most of the classes I am teaching have very good students. Even the one class that I have that is “unmotivated”, to say the least, I feel like I have made some head-way with them and some of the students impress me with the work they can do when they actually apply themselves.

Of course, there are some days or classes when you leave and wonder if you actually accomplished anything. One could use a golf analogy to describe teaching at times like that: In golf it’s that one really good shot that keeps bringing you back and keeps you excited; the same holds true for teaching.  All you need is just one really great class in a day to lift your spirits and make you realize that you have certainly made the right choice in careers. (Intermediate/Secondary) Intern

The school is like a big family

Over the last 10 weeks I have been in the most wonderful school, interning in Kindergarten. The sense of community between staff, students, and parents is amazing to me. The school is like a big family where everyone is included and involved 100% of the time.

I have had the opportunity to be involved in the schools’ guided reading program, I was a judge in the famous 26 year running of

the heritage fair, and I was amazed with the children when they performed at the talent show.

We just hosted a shave for the brave for the first time. Out of the 150 students in the school, 21 of them shaved their heads and raised over

$3000.00 for young adults battling cancer. This experience has been the icing on the cake and has only strengthened and solidified my decision to become a teacher.  (Primary Intern)

 

Education 4420 (Legal & Moral Issues in Education) – Spring Semester 2012

As mentioned last week, I’ve received a number of enquiries re Education 4420 (Legal & Moral Issues in Education) to be offered in the spring semester.  Yours truly will be teaching both sections:

Section 001 (CRN 81757):  For the full 13 week spring semester from May 7 – August 3 (Tues and Thurs from 2:30-3:45 in E1005).  It is my understanding that this section is open only to B. Ed. (I/S) students.

Section 002 (CRN 84652):  For the 6 week spring intersession from May 7 – June 15 (Mon-Wed-Fri from 11:00-12:40 in E1005).  It is my understanding that this section is open to both B. Ed. (P/E) and to B. Ed. (I/S) students.

Registration for the spring semester begins tomorrow Monday, March 26.  Students having any questions about Education 4420 should contact jdelaney@mun.ca (telephone 864-2071; office E4022).   

 

On the Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 1)

v6-13-01

 

“No it’s not real but it does wonders

for school bus discipline!”

 

Quote of the Week

“The most effective teacher will always be biased,
for the chief force in teaching is confidence and enthusiasm.”
                                                                      Joyce Cary

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 2)

v6-13-02

“I do not permit name-calling in my class and I will reprimand

any student who calls your son a dummy.”

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 3)

v6-13-03

 

“My teacher says you have her sympathy – whatever that means!”

 

Recommended Book Resource For Primary and Elementary Interns

 The Royal Bee

Written by: Frances Park and Ginger Park

Illustrated by: Christopher Zhong-Yuan Zhang

Pennsylvania: Boyds Mill Press, 2000

Inspired by the true story of their grandfather, the authors tell this inspiring tale of an illiterate boy who lives in late nineteenth century Korea. In those days, only the privileged yangban children went to school, wore fine clothing, competed in The Royal Bee at the palace, and grew up to be scholars.

Soho was a poor sangmin boy who wore rags and dreamed of being able to read so he could grow up to earn a good living and look after his mother. Soho started going to the school each day and standing quietly outside the rice-paper door to hear what the teacher was saying and each day he learned a little more. Unknown to Soho, the teacher knew he was

there and unable to break the rules, the teacher made sure his voice was loud and clear when he taught.

Then one cold winter day, when Soho’s ears were starting to freeze, the door opened and the teacher commanded him to enter. The pupils were shocked at the sight of Soho in his rags but they questioned him about what they had been learning, and were even more surprised to hear how much he had learned. They welcomed him to their school and he became a prize pupil. Soho’s classmates chose him to represent them at The Royal Bee. In the eloquent ending we see how a belief in hope and possibility and a young boy’s honor can make a difference for generations to come.

 

Note to All Interns

If for some unknown reason you have sent in a submission for the eMEMO and to date it has not been included in any of these issues, please bring it to the editor’s attention (jdelaney@mun.ca).  Sometimes emails inadvertently get overlooked or “misplaced”.

 

Second Note to All Interns – A General Call for Final Submissions

As next week will be the final issue of the eMEMO for this year, if you haven’t sent in a submission, here’s your last chance to do so.  It doesn’t have to be anything fancy and the editor takes care of any spelling or grammatical errors.  The content of your submission can be whatever you decide as long as it’s about your internship; deadline for submissions is late Saturday night as we go to “press” Sunday morning.

 

Concluding Comment

That concludes another issue of the eMEMO.  I know it’s already been said several times in this publication but it is truly amazing how quick the time has gone by – seems like just the other day when this year’s first issue came out. That was January 2nd!

Thank you to those interns who sent in this week’s submissions – it is most appreciated.

On a hockey-related note (no surprise there!), I was at Mile One for game 1 of the Herder finals last night.  The Grand Falls Cataracts defeated the Clarenville Caribous by a score of 5-1.  I’ll be down there again this afternoon for game 2.  It’s excellent hockey and they work their hearts out.  I’m cheering for the Caribous.  Games 3, 4 and 5 will be held in Corner Brook next weekend.

 

Have a wonderful weekend everyone.

About themondayememo

Jerome G. Delaney, Editor Associate Professor – Educational Administration Faculty of Education Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John’s, NL Canada A1B 3X8 Telephone: 709-864-2071 Facsimile: 709-864-2345 Email: jdelaney@mun.ca
This entry was posted in Volume 06 (Winter 2012). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

