Vol. 6, Number 14

Greetings, everyone – welcome to the last issue of the eMEMO for this year.  We have several submissions this week and a special word of thank you to those interns who sent them in.  A number of the interns finished at their schools last week but most will finish this coming Thursday.   No doubt those last classes are emotional ones as teaching can be a highly emotional activity.  However, the main thing is that you interns have had, for the most part, very successful and enjoyable experiences and hopefully these experiences have solidified your desire to become a teacher. Enjoy the break and we look forward to having you back on campus as of May 7.

Feedback From This Year’s Interns

 

I have learned so much

The education program teaches you the theory and the fundamentals of teaching and even though the program is taught in a hands-on way nothing compares to your internship.

During your internship you really get to know what teaching is like.  It has been the most wonderful experience ever.  I have learned so much that I will take with me and I know without a doubt that I was supposed to be a teacher.  It is a joy to wake up every morning and come to a job you love. (Primary Intern)

 

In the beginning it was a bit of a roller coaster

Overall, my internship has been a positive one – the students are great, and I love the junior high atmosphere. In the beginning it was a bit of a roller coaster to maintain routine, use effective class management strategies, with the added element of constant constructive criticism.

I can honestly say that I was initially stressed to the max. For the first week I had very little sleep, didn’t eat much and I was constantly working on lesson plans and strategies that I could use in the classroom.

As time progressed, I gained confidence and I focused on the students. I have a routine that’s becoming more efficient and my class management is progressing well. I am also taking better care of myself – taking the time out no matter how busy I am to stop and eat during breaks in the day, planning in advance and getting lots of sleep.

I love the junior high science curriculum! I enjoy bringing demonstrations into the classroom and every time I am so surprised with their reactions. I brought in a beaker of vegetable oil to my grade seven class and added blue food colouring. The looks on their faces were priceless! The lab components are also great and I have enjoyed bringing the students to the lab.

It will be bittersweet when I complete my internship. Even though I am one step closer to completing the program, it will be sad to leave the place of my teaching debut!  (Intermediate Intern)

 

I feel sadness

As the weeks are approaching to an end, I feel sadness. I have nothing negative to say about my experience, it was all fantastic. Even the days where I was completely overwhelmed, students were pushing me to the limits, I still felt happiness from what I was doing.

It has been an enormous learning experience. With that came a lot of mistakes and reflecting. I am so grateful for the staff and my co-operating teachers for everything they have done. I had such a warm welcome to the school that fitting in was not an issue.

The students . . . well the students are going to be missed the most. It is so amazing how much you can learn from nine and ten year olds. You begin to appreciate things around you because there are so many without and laugh more because of the jokes they tell.

It is hard to sum up my internship in such a few words because there are none to express how much I loved every minute I was there.

(Elementary Intern)


They welcomed me with the highest amount of respect and support

My internship was absolutely amazing. I was fortunate enough to revisit my old high school and boy have things changed. Most of the teachers that are here were here during my high school years but are still the same, respectful teachers. They welcomed me with the highest amount of respect and support that they could. Even though I had one co-operating teacher, they all helped me along and provided me with any information that I might need. Some even took me under their wing and expanded my learning to subject areas that were outside my main teachable.

When I went to school here, well in the old school, there were

no such things as smart boards and team boards and my co-operating teacher (who is one of the main tech teachers in the school), expanded my knowledge and helped me learn different ways of using these. I could not have asked for a better experience and I’m sure it has helped to brighten my future career as a teacher.  (Intermediate/Secondary Teacher)

 

I had the opportunity to work under one of my favorite teachers

My internship has been a real learning experience. I had the opportunity to work under one of my favorite teachers at my old high school, so having a pre-existing rapport was a definite bonus as it allowed us to get right down to business. This also allowed me to save money as I was staying at home for the duration.
I was given responsibility for everything that went on in two courses from the start of the semester and in addition to that, I have had a very varied experience. I was able to fill in during emergencies for other teachers, I supervised the weight room (about 3 lunch hours a week for the duration), worked with the special needs class (again consistently about 3 times a week, focusing on physical activity as this is something lacking in the current program compounding other health issues many of these students have) and taught a variety of classes as well as lending some of my experiences to other teachers in various capacities. Some days I would be teaching for all the class periods as well as volunteering during the lunch period, so it got a little busy at times.
I tried to go into this period with an open mind and I believe that I’ve had many of my preconceptions changed and I now have a much better picture of the kind of teacher I want to be. I have the utmost respect for the profession and I intend to make it my life’s work mastering the craft and doing my best for my students. (Secondary Intern)

 

I cannot believe how much I’ve grown

I am all finished my internship and I cannot believe how much I have grown. Through this placement I have more than confirmed that this is the career for me. The fact that I looked forward to each day and left with a smile on my face helped me decide. I loved feeling part of a staff and they really made me feel welcomed. I also loved the opportunity to see different grade levels and have a feel for what grades are better suited to me.

This has been, hands down, one of the best experiences of my life! Having to leave was the hardest part of the placement but knowing that I will have my own class in the fall is such an accomplishment. All the hard work has paid off. Congrats to all my fellow Education students; we survived!   (Primary/Elementary Intern)

 

I consider myself very fortunate

I applied to the Faculty of Education as a mature student.  I have a Marketing Diploma from Cape Breton University and about ten years’ experience working mainly in customer service.  I simply decided that I wanted a better life for my family and that I was capable of doing more.  I wanted to feel like I was doing something that was important, that mattered.  What could be more important than preparing children for the future.

I was nearly 100% sure that I was doing the right thing and the first two semesters couldn’t have been better.  However, as experience has taught me, things are often better in theory than they are in reality.  My internship has been an experience all its own.

I consider myself very fortunate in that I was placed in a grade four class which was my preference.  My co-operating teacher and I got along immediately and I now consider her a mentor, a friend and a colleague.  I found myself to be comfortable in my new surroundings – I quickly felt like I belonged there, like I had always been there.

One thing that I realized, though I had always known it to some degree, is the amount of work that is required of teachers. Teaching, planning and assessing are just a part of what is involved.  But I am not to be deterred!

I have found during my internship that teaching is the perfect balance between pure exhaustion and pure joy.  Through my internship I have realized that I am finally on the right path.  I feel that I have found what I am meant to do – my purpose in life.  (Elementary Intern)

 

This internship has also reaffirmed my career choice

I have spent the past 12 weeks with a wonderful group of Grade 1 students.  Time has gone by so quickly, it is hard to believe that I only have a few days left of my internship.

My internship has been a wonderful experience and I have learned so much from my co-operating teacher as well as from the students.  I have

learned more classroom management strategies, teaching strategies and teaching resources which I can use in my own classroom in the future.  For me, this internship has also reaffirmed my career choice.  I loved teaching these students over the past 12 weeks and I cannot wait to teach in September. (Primary Intern)

 

Never give up on a class

I just finished up my internship today before Easter holidays because I am in Harlow. This experience has been the best of my life. I feel as though I have grown personally through traveling which was always the thing I was looking forward to and, today, I realized somehow I became a teacher along the way.

Being in an entirely new school system was very challenging at first and

sometimes more frustrating than you can imagine when you disagreed with the way things were done but had to do them anyway. Today, now that all is said and done, I am so proud to have had this experience and I am certainly going to miss my new friends, my lovely (and even my not so lovely!) students and the school itself.

I ended my internship in my class which has caused me the most

grief due to their behavior – they were the students who were constantly

talking back and the ones I thought would jump for joy when I left. When I finished my class, every single one of them stood up without being told to do so and applauded to thank me for teaching them and I now I understand my mentor’s golden rule “Never give up on a class”. I finally feel like a teacher! Yay!  (Secondary Intern)

 

Education 4420 (Legal & Moral Issues in Education) – Spring Semester 2012

Interns, if you are interested in taking Education 4420 either in the spring intersession (May 7 – June 20) or the spring semester (May 7 – Aug 3) and have not been able to register for the course, please contact yours truly at  jdelaney@mun.ca (telephone 864-2071; office E4022).

On the Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 1)

v6-14-01

  

“He must have been held back for a grade or two!”

 

Quote of the Week

“If kids come to us from strong, healthy functioning families, it makes our job easier. If they do not come to us from strong, healthy, functioning families, it makes our job more important.”

                                                                             Barbara Coloroso

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 2)

v6-14-02

____________________________________

“You’ve had an accident – do you have on clean underwear?”

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 3)

v6-14-03

 

“I have a waiting room filled with people that have different

needs and don’t want to be here.  You’re a teacher – you

wouldn’t know how stressful that is!”

 

The Revised Bachelor of Education (Intermediate/Secondary) Program – September, 2012

Beginning this coming September there will be a significant revision of the Bachelor of Education (Intermediate/Secondary) program.  The 5 observation days have been replaced by a 2 week (10 school days) introductory internship which will be done early in the fall semester.  The regular winter semester internship will continue as usual but will be shortened by 2 weeks as a result of the early fall internship.

Students will return to campus for the last 10 days of the winter semester and will complete 3 credit hours in institute courses.  These courses are now being developed and will be of a 2 credit hour duration (24 hours of classroom instruction) and a 1 credit hour duration (12 hours of classroom instruction).  As already mentioned, these institutes will be completed over the 10 days and each student will have to complete 3 credit hours of instruction.

Students will do a teacher development seminar (Education 5000) which will extend throughout the 3 semesters and will be worth 3 credit hours.  At the end of this course, students will have developed an e-portfolio which should be an asset when applying for teaching positions.

In the fall semester students will do:

  • Education 4005 (Effective Teaching and Learning Environments);
  • Education 406T (Introductory Internship in the Intermediate and Secondary School);
  • Education 4240 (An Introduction to the Exceptional Learner);
  • Education 4260 (Engaging the Adolescent Learner);
  • 2 methodology courses in their specialty areas; and
  • Education 5000 ( Teacher Development Seminar).

The winter semester:

  • Education 407T (Extended Internship in the I/S School);
  • Education 4350 (Reading in the Content Areas) or 3 credit hours in institutes in I/S Education;  and
  • Education 5000 (Teacher Development Seminar).

The spring semester:

  • Education 4242 (Identification and Remediation of Learning Difficulties);
  • Education 4381 (Perspectives on Education);
  • Education 4390 (Diversity, Social Justice, Teaching and Learning);
  • Education 4427 (Professional Leading and Learning in the School Organization);
  • Education 4950 (Assessment for Learning); and
  • Education 5000 (Teacher Development Seminar).

 

Recommended Book Resource For Primary and Elementary Interns

My Rows and Piles of Coins

Written by: Tololwa M. Molel

Illustrated by: E. B. Lewis

New York: Clarion Books, 1999

 

Saruni went to market with his mother every Saturday and every Saturday his mother gave him five ten-cent coins for his help. The story takes place in Tanzania where 50 cents is worth about six cents in Canadian currency.

Saruni’s mother did not know that he was saving his money to buy a bike to help her and every time he added coins to his secret money box, he would take them out and arrange the coins in piles and the piles in rows to count them.

He was learning to ride his father’s bike and he couldn’t wait for the day when he had enough money to buy his own bike. The day finally arrives when he thinks he has enough but the bicycle seller laughs at the amount of money he has and as Saruni walks dejectedly home with his mother, he tells her the whole story.

The next day Saruni was surprised when his father came home with a motorbike and offered to sell Saruni his bike for the same price Saruni had offered the bicycle salesman. He got an even bigger surprise when his father handed the money box to Saruni’s mother, who then handed it to him.

And as he walked to market with his mother, who carried a bowl of fruit on her head, he thought, “If only I had a cart to pull behind my bicycle…I could lighten her load”, and when he went home that night he arranged his coins in piles and the piles in rows to count them. This tale of determination and generosity is illustrated in vivid watercolors and is sure to have students from K-6 thinking of their own dreams and plans.

 

Concluding Comment

That concludes the last issue of the eMEMO for 2012.  THE MONDAY eMEMO will return on January 2, 2013 for its 7th year of publication.

I am absolutely delighted with the phenomenal increase in teacher intern submissions this year.  Last year there were 58 submissions, this year we had 121 for an increase of 108.6%!  Hopefully, we’ll have even more next year.  Thank you to all those interns who took the time to pen their thoughts and send them in – very very much appreciated.  Thank you also to those of you from the general readership who sent in positive comments on the eMEMO content – that feedback is also much appreciated.

And of course a few words hockey-related.  The Clarenville Caribous have now won 3 games straight in the Herder Finals and as this final issue is about to be emailed to you, they are playing game 5 at the Pepsi Center in Corner Brook.  Go ‘Bous go!

Hockey, scrimmage-wise at St. Bon’s on Friday nights, we anticipate “going deep” into the playoffs (!!!!) with our final “Stanley Cup” game on April 27  – we have an “inflatable Stanley Cup” – great for picture-taking!

To all you teacher interns, congratulations on your internship experiences and much success in your future endeavors.

 

We’ll “see” you all again next year!

About themondayememo

Jerome G. Delaney, Editor Associate Professor – Educational Administration Faculty of Education Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John’s, NL Canada A1B 3X8 Telephone: 709-864-2071 Facsimile: 709-864-2345 Email: jdelaney@mun.ca
This entry was posted in Volume 06 (Winter 2012). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

