Vol. 6, Number 2

Welcome to the 2nd issue of the eMemo.  Interns, you’ve “survived” your first 4 days of the internship and hopefully, it wasn’t as bad as you may have anticipated.  This issue contains feedback from a couple of you about those first 4 days.  In addition to feedback from this year’s interns, feedback and commentary are always welcomed from the general readership.

Feedback From  This Year’s Interns

 My first example had a significant mistakeI taught my first lesson today! It was a level 3 math class and overall it went well. My first example however, had a significant mistake in it that I hadn’t realized. When I got up and started the example, all the students pointed out, “Ms. you have a mistake…” I quickly admitted my mistake and corrected it. I was kind of embarrassed! I finished the example and then moved on to the next example by saying, “Ok guys let’s see who can find the mistake in the next example!” It was a great ice breaker, even if it was at my own expense. There were no more mistakes in my lesson and everything ran smoothly after that!   (Intermediate/Secondary Intern) I was so nervousThe day before I started my internship I was so nervous I didn’t think I was going to survive.  Then when I got there and met my teacher and saw the principal and some of the teachers I knew (I went to this school growing up) I became much more relaxed. The school I am in is so great.  The staff are so nice and I really don’t think I could have ended up with a better co-operating teacher. The kids LOVE him to death.  I find it so funny listening to the things that come out of grade 8’s and 9’s.  They are so clever!  I start teaching this Tuesday and I am still a little nervous, but it gets lesser every day.  I think it will go well and I get more excited about being a teacher every day!!!   (Intermediate Intern)       

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 1)

v6-02-01

“My teacher says D stands for ‘Don’t stop trying’!”

 

Quote of the Week

“They may forget what you said but they will never forget how you made them feel.” – Carol Buchner

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 2)

v6-02-02

“I earned extra credit for always turning off my cell phone for class.”

 

Recommended Reading

For all you Newfoundland history “buffs”, I highly recommend Patrick Collins’ latest book, “The Harbour Grace Affray – St. Stephen’s Day, 1883:  The Clash of Two Solitudes – A Story of Riot, Religion and Romance”.  This is a fictional story of a real event which took place in Harbour Grace on December 26, 1883.  This is Pat’s second book; his first, titled “Dr. Charles Cron:  A Doctor for All Time – A Man Who Cured Our Hearts” came out in 2010.

Check out his latest book at www. drcpublishingnl.com.

 

Interns, Please Check Your MUN Email Accounts on a regular basis as there may be important messages coming out to you from the Faculty of Education.

 

British Columbia College of Teachers Dissolved

As of November 14, 2011, the British Columbia College of Teachers was officially dissolved.  On that day the BC Legislature passed a new statute, entitled The Teachers Act which created a new structure for guiding teachers in British Columbia known as the British Columbia Teachers’ Council.  However, a recent check of their website (www.bcct.ca) shows that the website is still up and running.

Some More Advice for Teacher Interns

  • Promptness is critical.
  • Dress professionally.
  • Treat each child as an individual.
  • Avoid gossip.
  • Develop positive relationships with students.
  • Attitudes are important.
  • Show initiative.
  • Use strategies for varying learning styles.
  • Use positive comments as often as possible.
  • Be a good role model in dress, action, and speech.
  • Remember to smile.
  • Respect the child and they will respect you.
  • Model good cooperating techniques.
  • Involve all students in the lesson.
  • Use inflection when speaking.
  • Make eye contact with students.
  • Learn as much as you can from the students and cooperating teacher during this experience.
  • Get to know the faculty and staff at the school.
  • Keep parents informed on what is going on in the classroom and with their individual child.
  • Remember all children can learn!

 

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 3)

v6-02-03

“Thanks for showing us your new Batman briefs, Robert – next person, please.”

 

Concluding Comment

That concludes Issue # 2.  Next week we’re hoping we’ll have a greater number of feedback submissions from the interns as that’s what the eMEMO is all about.

However, a word of thank you to those who sent positive emails on last week’s first issue.  That feedback is most appreciated.

As in past years, I often take advantage of this forum to talk a “little” hockey!  My beloved Habs seem to be on the upswing with their last 2 wins and how about Lars Elller’s 4 point night against the Panthers last week.  I’m involved in a scrimmage hockey group that plays from 9:00-10:00 every Friday night at St. Bon’s Forum.  I was hoping someone Friday night past would try to emulate his “spinorama” goal on that penalty shot but we’re not that skilled!

Yours truly did have a 3 point night a couple of weeks ago (2 assists and a goal), but nothing last week and 1 goal this week even though it was of dubious distinction!  Actually, it was on my own goalie – I tried to provide some good “D” for our goalie but the puck hit my left shin pad and careened into our net – not very impressive to say the least!!!!!!  But one could say it was a goal!!!!!

 

And lastly, interns, best wishes on your 2nd week into the internship.

We all look forward to hearing more about your classroom experiences in the eMEMOs ahead.  Have a great week everyone.

About themondayememo

Jerome G. Delaney, Editor Associate Professor – Educational Administration Faculty of Education Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John’s, NL Canada A1B 3X8 Telephone: 709-864-2071 Facsimile: 709-864-2345 Email: jdelaney@mun.ca
This entry was posted in Volume 06 (Winter 2012). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

