Vol. 11, Number 6

Good afternoon everyone  and welcome to issue # 6.  January is gone and here we are into the month of February, a short month at that.  Interns, you are about halfway into your internships; hope all is well with you.  We have a limited number of submissions this week; not sure why but it might have something to do with my email account.  Hopefully, we’ll return to our regular numbers next week.

We do feature in this issue the return of a popular column from years past, “Former Student Update”.  Amanda Goulding (B.Ed., 2015) offers some sage advice to our current interns.  We thank her for putting that article together.

A new feature titled “An Education Research Study” is being introduced in this issue; our thanks to Faculty member, Dr. Gabrielle Young for her submission.

Enjoy issue # 6.

Feedback From This Year’s Interns

Respect came because I earned it
I am doing my internship at a K-12 school which just so happens to be my old school. Having only graduated 5 years ago many of the staff and students already knew me before my internship even started. This created a little issue with getting some of them to look at me as a figure of authority in the school, them being the students and the staff who already knew me.

At the beginning this was a little frustrating as I wanted the respect that came along with being a teacher. Such things as having to observe some classes, having to have a teacher supervisor for the classes I taught and not having a key to the school doors all made me very frustrated with only being an intern. It was my belief at the beginning that it was these things and the way certain staff treated me that made some students not see me as a ‘real’ teacher and give me the respect I desired.

As I began my transition into teaching classes, being a major part of extracurricular activities and socializing with the staff I quickly began to earn the respect of the school. Mostly every teacher and student now look at me as “Sir”. It was not until I reflected upon how this respect came about that I realized that this respect came because I earned it. I learned that it was not because people knew me or I did not have a key that they did not show me respect but rather I did nothing to earn their respect. So one of the first things I learned on my internship is respect is a privilege that is earned not a right.  (Intermediate/Secondary Intern)

Enables me to develop my teaching abilities
This ‘real-life’ physical education setting enables me to develop my teaching abilities. With my co-operating teacher I hope to gain qualities as a physical educator that will enable me to have a positive impact on students throughout my internship. Intermediate/secondary Physical Education teachers get the opportunity to organize activities and challenges daily that promote physical activity among adolescents.

Besides being knowledgeable about a sport, I need to be able to communicate and demonstrate properly if I want to keep my students engaged. By exposing students to various physical activities and sports throughout my internship it better provides a sense of enjoyment towards physical activity. Throughout my internship I hope to provide the means for students to enjoy physical activity and become more confident with their individual abilities. I hope to provide students with attainable goals, as well as challenge them. However, my major focus will be to make my daily lessons as enjoyable as possible as I prepare myself for teaching my own classes.

Recently completing my Physical Education degree I’m entering the gymnasium with activities learned throughout my previous Physical Education programs, new knowledge from the recently completed program, and an enthusiastic attitude that leaves me wanting to learn. With this opportunity to complete this internship I look forward to the knowledge I will gain from this experience. This new knowledge along with previous experience acquired from my first degree will prepare myself for teaching.  (Intermediate/Secondary Intern)

I have gained their trust and their confidence
I can’t believe it has been five weeks already. I have been interning at one of the high schools in St John’s with a whole array of classes in Math, Science and Physics. I was handed total control of one class my first Friday, and another class the middle of the second week. Now that mid- terms are over I have been given full control of 3 of my 6 classes, team teaching two more and there for support for the last.

I am getting to know some of my students very well. Most of them would hesitate to call on me when they needed help with something in the first week, always turning to my co-operating teacher for reassurance.  It now seems to be turning the other way. I have gained their trust and their confidence; they no longer come in the room asking if my co-operating teacher is there when I just opened the door and their questions tend to come to me first.

They also have an incredible span of interests; one who wants to be a professional dirt bike racer and another student who come up at the end of class asking about properties of specific radioactive elements (in grade 10 Science!). What I think is one of the most important parts of recognizing this is seeing each student’s interests as valid. The two students mentioned are polar opposites and while as a teacher I would love my students to aspire to academics and trades, it is the reality of the world that not all people are interested in those routes and to be forced into one would lead them to an unfulfilled life, and a loss of potential. I try to make my classes relevant for each of these students; while I don’t always hit my mark, my students always know I value their interests and views.  (Secondary Intern)

How do you know my name already
Hi everyone! I am interning at a high school in the St. John’s area and so far I am having a wonderful time. I am teaching Biology 2201, Science 1206 and Technology 9. I’ve succeeded in learning all of my students names and now when I call them by name I get the same response: “Miss, how do you know my name already?”.  My reply to them is always the same: “Magic!”. I am learning so much and my co-operating teacher is awesome, I couldn’t ask for any better.

I’ve probably asked upwards of two million questions by now (a slight exaggeration) and he happily answers them all for me. The kids are hilarious, and I’ve discovered that I am destined to be that teacher who tells extremely corny jokes and then proceeds to laugh at her own jokes (while the students roll their eyes). I hope you are all having a great term and looking forward to seeing you in April. (Intermediate/Secondary)

Recommended Book Resource for Primary and Elementary Interns
What Do You Do With an Idea? (2013)
Author: Kobi Yamada
Illustrator: Mae Besom

For all those who get ideas they are nervous about sharing with others—this is the book for you! It is ageless, for the young to the old, for the shy to the bold, from the nervous to the confident, from the tiny to the enormous—all of us get brilliant ideas that we keep to ourselves and do not bring to fruition. This book will encourage children and adults to try out some of their amazing ideas.

The book opens with neutral shades and a golden oval shaped being with a small golden crown on its head. A small boy, part of the beige background is staring and saying, “One day I had an idea.” But, the boy did not know what to do with his idea. So he walked away from it.

But it followed him. The boy wondered what others would think of his idea, so he kept it hidden. However, the boy felt better when his idea was around, and as we see the idea following the boy it is getting bigger and brighter in hue. It wanted attention, it kept getting bigger, and the boy and his idea became friends.

The boy began showing his idea to friends, and some of them laughed at it. Others said it was weird or a waste of time. At first, the boy thought about giving up on his idea. But then he thought, “This is MY idea. No one knows it like I do. And it’s okay if it’s different, and weird, and maybe a little crazy”. So he decided to give his idea some attention. And his idea grew and grew.

As the boy began to pay more attention to his idea, we see the illustrations turn from gray to bright colours. Then one day his idea became part of everything in the boy’s world. The story ends with the boy realizing what you do with an idea…”You change the world”.

This book is for all those who have ideas and are afraid to develop them further because of discouraging words from others. To quote Emily Dickinson, it encourages all of us to “dwell in possibility”.

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 1)

v11-01-06

“I guess that’s why it was once called a knapsack!”

Quote of the Week
T-Shirts for Teachers:  Everything I say will be on the exam!

An Education Research Study
Researcher:  Dr. Gabrielle Young
Title:               Using Assistive Technology within the Framework of Universal Design for Learning

Teachers must employ instructional approaches and tools that assist all students in accessing the curriculum, engaging in learning activities, and demonstrating their achievements. Universal design for learning and assistive technology make the curriculum and instructional practices accessible and engaging for all students. As there is little research examining the use of assistive technology in inclusive environments, this exploratory study used semi-structured interviews with 19 teachers, focus groups with students, and classroom observations to examine how elementary teachers implement assistive technology in general education classrooms within the context of universal design for learning and the supports and challenges that influence these practices.

The results from this study highlight the importance of providing teachers with professional development to purposefully integrate technology as a means to provide multiple ways for students to learn and demonstrate their learning. This investigation revealed that teachers are learning about technology implementation through dialogic discourse with other teachers. Interviews with teachers highlighted that there is value in enabling teachers to engage with other teachers in sharing how they are using technology as a tool to help students with diverse learning needs access and learn from course material. This study reveals that teachers need to be taught about technologies that are available and how those technologies can be used to support students in accessing and learning the curriculum. In addition, this study highlights the need for a consistent vision surrounding the use of technology in schools and classrooms.

On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 2)

v11-03-06

“But honey. . . you’re the teacher!”

Former Student Update
Hi everyone, my name is Amanda Goulding. I completed my Bachelor of Education (Intermediate/Secondary) in 2015. Seems like only yesterday I was completing my internship at Leo Burke Academy in Bishop Falls.  I hope you are all enjoying your time thus far and getting involved in your respective schools. I found the internship was one of my biggest learning experiences throughout the program.

After completing my degree in August and applying for many jobs I was awarded a teaching position at Main River Academy, a K-12 school in Pollard’s Point, NL the Labor Day weekend. In 3 days I moved from my hometown of Grand Falls-Windsor to an apartment in the small community on the west coast and started a new career teaching junior and senior high Math and Science. The first few weeks of the school year were very challenging. At times I didn’t know if I would be able to do it: new courses, new students, new colleagues, and a new community. It was a lot coming at me at once! However after a few weeks I quickly settled in and it became one of the greatest experiences of my life. I had a wonderful year and became very involved in the school and community. I was the teacher sponsor for graduation, helped with the Allied Youth Group and even got involved in a card club with members of the community. This position was only a one year term contract and I was very sad to leave. I met people who I will always stay in contact with. I’m actually going back to visit this weekend!

This year I started a teaching position closer to my hometown at Hillview Academy (K-9 school) in Norris Arm teaching junior high Science and Health. It has been a great year so far getting to experience a new school and getting to help out with the student leadership team. I have also met some awesome colleagues here as well.

My advice to you interns would be to enjoy the rest of the B.Ed program. Get involved with the faculty and appreciate the time with your classmates. The people I met in the program are some of my best friends and we still talk and often get together. When it comes to teaching positions I would say take a chance and don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone.  I didn’t even know where Pollard’s Point was before I moved there to teach but it turned out to be a fabulous experience. Get involved in your school and community and enjoy every minute of it! Good luck with the rest of your internship!

Education Law Corner
Last week we talked about the role of the Ontario Teachers College (OCT). A similar agency existed in British Columbia, the British Columbia College of Teachers (BCCT) until 2011 when it was “decommissioned” by the provincial government. In 2011, in a report commissioned by the government of British Columbia, the BCCT was deemed dysfunctional and, consequently, the organization was abolished and replaced by the Teacher Regulation Branch of the B.C. government Ministry of Education on January 9, 2012. Similar to the Professionally Speaking magazine published quarterly by the OCT, the Teacher Regulation Branch of BC Education also publishes a magazine 4 times a year titled Learn.  Here’s one disciplinary case from a recent issue:

Certificate Holder:  Anthony Albert Drolet
Agreement:  Professional Misconduct and Conduct Unbecoming/Standards 1 and 2
Disposition: Director of Certification will never issue a teaching certificate or letter of permission

In June 2013, a district made a report about Mr. Drolet under Section16(2) of the School Act.  After a female student taught by Mr. Drolet graduated in June, 2012, the student followed Mr. Drolet on his Twitter account.  In May, 2013Mr. Drolet contacted her using Twitter and over approximately three weeks, sent her numerous inappropriate messages of a sexual nature, including references to having sex with her, using Twitter and text messaging.  On June 7, 2013, Mr. Drolet called in sick to work.  However, he was not sick but had gone to Seattle for a party and over that weekend, had sent numerous inappropriate messages to his former student.  On July 24, 2013 Mr. Drolet signed an undertaking not to practice and subsequently relinquished his certificate on October 24, 2014.  On March 22, 2016, the Commissioner executed a consent resolution

Agreement in which Mr. Drolet agreed that he will never apply for, and that the Director of Certification will never issue to him, a certificate of qualification, an independent school teaching certificate or a letter of permission.

 On The Lighter Side of Teaching (Part 3) 

cartoon-2017-21

“The test is true/false not true/whatever!”

Please Check Your MUN Email Accounts
Interns, you are asked to check your MUN email accounts on a regular basis as that’s the only email address we’re expected to use to contact you.

Submissions Not Published in the eMemo
Interns, if you have sent in a submission for the eMemo and it has not yet been published, that’s an oversight on the editor’s part.
You are asked to email me (jdelaney@mun.ca) at your earliest convenience and the submission will be in the next issue of the eMemo.
I don’t think that’s happened thus far this year but please bring it to my attention if/when it does happen.

Concluding Comments From The Editor
That’s it for issue # 6.

Our thanks to the interns who sent in submissions this week.  A special thank you to former student, Amanda Goulding for her most interesting and most insightful commentary about her life “post B.Ed.”.  We wish her continued success with her teaching.  Thank you also to Faculty member, Dr. Gabrielle Young for providing us with a submission for our new feature, An Education Research Study.

Hockey-wise, not a lot to report this week. We had a record number of players, 16 + the usual 2 goalies at our St. Bon’s game Friday night.  Yours truly had an uneventful night re points but did have some wonderful chances at scoring, albeit unsuccessful ones!  Mes Habs lost Saturday to Ovie and the Capitals; the Leafs won a nail-biter with the Bruins and les Habs lost Sunday in the shootout to Connor McDavid et al. of the Oilers!!!!!  Obviously, nothing to cheer about there!  I received the standard “gloating” telephone call from my sister-in-law in Stephenville – I was polite!

As usual, feedback is always welcomed from the current interns and from the general readership.  My email address is jdelaney@mun.ca

Have a great week everyone – Jerome

About themondayememo

Jerome G. Delaney, Editor Associate Professor – Educational Administration Faculty of Education Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John’s, NL Canada A1B 3X8 Telephone: 709-864-2071 Facsimile: 709-864-2345 Email: jdelaney@mun.ca
This entry was posted in special issues and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

